Mary Matha Arts & Science College

History of the College

Mary Matha Arts & Science College, an institution run by the Syro Malabar Catholic Diocese of Mananthavady, symbolises the realisation of the dreams and aspirations of the people of North Wayanad. It was sanctioned by the Government of Kerala on the recommendation of the University of Calicut in response to the demands of the people. His Excellency Rt Rev Dr Jacob Thoomkuzhy, the then Bishop of Mananthavady, took upon himself the onerous task of establishing and managing this institution, and he is our founder Patron. The college was formally inaugurated on 23rd October 1995 with three degree courses: Functional English, Zoology and Mathematics. When Kannur University came into existence in 1996, the college became affiliated to it. .

His Excellency Rt Rev Dr Emmanuel Pothanamuzhy became the Patron of the college when he was consecrated as the Bishop of the Diocese in 1997. As the founder Principal of Christ College, Bangalore, he had long years of experience as a teacher and administrator. His vision and commitment to academic excellence were guiding beacons in our institution's efforts to achieve its social and educational goals. His Excellency passed away in 2003 and subsequently His Excellency Rt Rev Dr Jose Porunnedom became the Patron.

Rev Msgr. Joseph Kaniamattam was the founder Manager of the college after which Rev Msgr George Njaralakkatt, the then Vicar General of the Diocese, was the Manager for nine long years from 1997 to 2006. After this, Rev Fr Jose Kocharackal, Syncellus of the Diocese, was the Manager till May 2008. Rev Msgr Dr Mathew Madappallikkunnel, the Vicar General of the Diocese was the Manager during 2008-2012. Rev Fr Chandy Punakkattu, was the Manager from May 2012 to May 2017 and during his time many developmental projects were undertaken in the college.

Rev Fr George Myladoor assumed charge in May 2017 as the Manager and he was the Manager upto 2022 April. On May 2022 Rev Msgr Paul Mundolickal took charge as the Manager and Rev Fr Sibichan Chelakappallil assumed charge as the Associate Manager and Bursar

Dr KT Varkey was the founder Principal of the college from 1995 to 2002. Rev Fr Dr James Maruthukunnel CMI, former Principal of St Joseph’s College Devagiri, Kozhikode, was the next Principal from 2002 to 2006. Dr Raju George took charge on 1st April 2006 and he served the college till March 2014. After his retirement, Dr Saban KV, Associate Professor of Physics, SB College, Changanassery, assumed the office of the Principal on 12th August 2014. He demitted the position on 10 June 2015 to take up another assignment. Then, Dr Savio James V, who served from the beginning of the college as the HoD of the Dept of English, assumed charge as the Principal. After his retirement Dr Maria Martin Joseph took charge as the Principal in March 2019.

The Decennial Celebration of the founding of the college was held in 2005-06 with several innovative initiatives in the academic programmes and in the extending of the infrastructure. The Vicennial Celebration of the college was held in January, 2014. The IGNOU (Indira Gandhi National Open University) centre was formally inaugurated in June 2015 to further enhance the educational opportunities of the people of the area, especially those who are unable to utilize the benefits of the regular stream of education. In 2006, National Assessment and Accreditation Council (NAAC), awarded B++ Grade (with 83.5% marks) to the college and later, in 2013, the college was re-accredited with A Grade by NAAC. In the 3rd cycle of accreditation held in March 2019, the college got B++ Grade.

The college offers eight Degree Courses, two PG Courses and Doctoral Programmes in Mathematics, Zoology and Computer Science. An Internal Quality Assurance Cell (IQAC) has been instituted to sustain and enhance the quality of education in the post-accreditation stages. Faculty members have undertaken about 30 Minor Research Projects with financial assistance from the UGC and four Major Research Projects sponsored by the Department of Science and Technology (DST), Govt of India and the Kerala State Council for Science, Technology and Environment (KSCSTE).